Mom School

Mom School Challenge 2017: Week 1

I am participating in a six week mom school challenge to teach by example. My regular post subjects will be off schedual during the next six weeks, since I will be posting every week about the challenge. 

In this post, I’ll be listing what books I’ve chosen and some of my goals, as well as sharing what I’ve been working on in my mom journals. Some of this is still a little fuzzy in my mind. I am waiting on my planner to come in the mail from my mom (who was so kind to comb bind it for me), and one other book.

The Thinking Tree journals I’ll be using:

Coffee Time Quiet Time

How to Homeschool

Tiny Treasury of Favorite Things coloring book.

I’m using two books with my journal:

The Christians Secret of a Happy Life, Hannah Whitall Smith

Fun-Schooling for Moms of Preschoolers, Sarah Janisse Brown

For the drawing time pages, I’m using three art instruction books from How Great Thou art by Barry Stebbing:

Feed my Sheep

God and the History of Art Vol. 1

The Student’s Guide to Keeping an Art Journal.

For the Sabbath I’m doing a Proverbs study using The Joyful Life devotional journal. I’m also using Sarah’s Tea Time Coloring book.

Here are my stacks of books (minus the one still in the mail). I don’t use the journal with these because my reading is usually done while nursing, rocking little ones, and in bed at night. Every once in awhile, I do get some time to myself to read.

I’ve categorized them by the topics I’m studying

 Family Relationships

Triggers (book & study guide), Amber Lia and Wendy Speaks

Family Finances

America’s Cheapest Family Gets You Right on the Money and Cut Your Grocery Bill in Half, Steve and Annette Economides

Homemaking

A Simply Homemade Clean, Lisa Barthuly

Animal Husbandry

Storey’s Guide to Raising Sheep, Paula Simmons and Carol Ekarius

I am actually just reading the chapter on Lambing for now because our sheep are about to have their first lambs. I’ll read the rest of the book when my husband is finished with it.

Knitting

The Principles of Knitting, June Hemmons Hiatt

Vintage Knit Hats and Vintage Knit Gloves and Mittens, Kathryn Fulton

Literature and Writing

The Reader’s Odyssey and Grading with a Purple Crayon, Dena M. Luchsinger

I’m intending to use these (not just read them) to teach myself about literary elements, how to analyze literature, how to write about literature, how to improve my writing, and how to write different kinds of essays.

Sabbath Books

Victory Over the Darkness (book & study guide), Neal T. Anderson

Raising Real Men, Hal and Melanie Young

Inductive Bible Study, Bauer and Traina

What I did this week

I did key five in the How to Homeschool booklet, finishing the keys to learning. My book is not the updated version. I will have the updated sections for my next post. My mom was so kind as to print the PDF for me.

Mom journal coloring & reading time

 I did  The Christians Secret of a Happy Life a couple weeks ago. You can read about it in a previous post. This week I finished the reading time pages with part two of the chapter on two year olds, and the chapter on three year olds from Fun-schooling for Mom’s of Preschoolers.

Sparky is going on three in march. I really enjoyed reading about this age. One thing that stuck out was teaching counting by making sure he understands numbers apply to objects. Sparky was interested in counting not long after turning two. He had heard me counting while measuring ingredients when he helping bake, and he started counting his cars. His counting wasn’t in numerical order, but he understood the concept that numbers meant a certain number of objects. Now he gets some of the numbers in order and likes me to help him count the toys as he cleans them up.

The evening I designed this picture frame, I was feeling stressed out. I just needed to do some coloring. At first I didn’t know what I was making. I was just experimenting with designs and getting my stress out.

I finished this art lesson, I had started last year. It felt good to finally finish it. 

I love this coloring book. It was a recent gift from my mom. The size of the book is perfect for coloring while holding a sleeping toddler (she has a hard time sleeping on her own while teething.). Most of the designs are small enough to color in a few minutes if I need a break or feel my stress level rising, but don’t have time for my mom journal right then.

The purpose of this challenge is to teach by example. Usually I like to do my mom school when I have a break from the children, but most often I have Sparky watching what I am doing. He wants to know what each item is that I am coloring, he tells himself what color I am using, and sometimes even tells me what color to use. Sometimes I can get him busy doing something beside me, as long as I let him be with me. One evening he worked on puzzles, and another day a shape and color sorting graph.

I’m really looking forward to participating in this mom schooling challenge. By next week I should have my other book and be using the Do – It – Yourself 180 Day Homeschooling Planner & Organizer for the Creative Student, to help me organize my reading and projects.

Leave a Reply

