From the Library

Knitting in Plain English/What I’m Reading This Week

     Knitting in Plain English by Maggie Righetti, takes an unconventional approach to learning how to knit, as well as explaining the conventional methods. I learned things from this book I’d never known before like the proper way to measure your work (you don’t count the cast on edge when measuring.).

     Topics include: how to tell before starting a project if something is wrong with the garment, gauge, knitting supplies, altering patterns and garments, correcting mistakes without having to rip out, twisted stitches, basic and a few other stitches, button holes, shaping, basic color work, and finishing. She includes beginner and intermediate learning projects that were designed so one would learn most of the techniques they would encounter in knitting 

     While I wasn’t impressed with the projects, I did make the three intermediate, baby items. I had never tried garment construction before, and being walked through each step gave me the confidence and understanding I needed to try sweaters for my children.

     I chose a free pattern online that used the same construction techniques (top down, and raglan sleeves), but also some new stuff (a picked up button band and hood). Using the methods I learned in Maggie’s book, I made the sweaters to fit, even adjusting the pattern as I went where it did not fit properly. Something I would not have known how to do or the options for doing so before reading this book.

     The only complaint I have is with the authoresses’ worldview. She refers several times to the Almighty as “she.”

Overall, I would recommend this book to a beginning knitter and one who wanted to take their skills up a notch. I have learned a lot of tricks and new techniques even though I’ve been knitting since I was 13.

What I’m Reading This Week

Sabbath Books:

  1. I finished Handbook for Personal Bible Study, Dr. William Klein
  2. Methodical Bible Study, Robert A. Traina
  3. The Canon of the New testament, Bruce M. Metzger

Family Life:

  1. The Children’s Ketubbah Project, Heidi Cooper
  2. The No-Cry Discipline Solution, Elizabeth Pantly

Needlework:

  1. The principals of Knitting, June Hemmons Hiatt

Homemaking:

  1. The Complete Tightwad Gazzett, Amy Decyczyn
  2. More Hours in my Day, Emilie Barnes and Sheri Torelli

Self-Education:

  1. I finished The Jane Austen Guide to Happily Ever After, Elizabeth Kantor (Beware!  While this book does make a lot of good points, it was written to an audience in the modern dating scene. There are references to the worlds way of dating including the modern view of sex outside of marriage even though the author is advocating using better principals and standards in selecting a husband.).
  2. I finished The Reader’s Odyssey, Dena M. Luschsinger. I’m inspired to also try her book, grading with a Purple Crayon. I just have to locate a copy first.
  3. Study is Hard Work, William H. Armstrong
Leave a Reply

