Around the Homestead

A Little of This and That/From the Mailbag

     It’s been slow around here lately. Not much has happened to tell about.

     John replaced the starter on his truck, and keeps up with cutting and splitting wood. He’s having to run the generator some each day because we haven’t been getting enough sun on the solar panels due to winter cloudiness.

     On Wed. we had 54 degrees. Even though it was cloudy, we thought it was a nice day, and went outside.

    Some of the photos in this post don’t have good lighting. I’m still trying to figure out the best settings on my phone camera.

Last night was the first night of Hanukkah. I was reminded of Blossom’s birth last year on the first evening of Hanukkah.

     Today John and I celebrate being married 3 1/2 years. John treated the family to Amy’s pizzas and coconut ice cream Fri. and I made him apple crisp. Even though its not the big yearly anniversary, its become one of our traditions to celebrated the half year mark.

From the Mailbag

     We received a couple boxes from my mom this week: clothes for john and Blossom, a tzedaka (giving) box and books for the children, and a surprise for me – gel pens.

   

I got to try them out yesterday in my quiet time journal. They are so much nicer then the cheap ones I had been using.

4 thoughts on “A Little of This and That/From the Mailbag

  1. Sarah the children are absolutely adorable. Growing up so quickly! Happy 3 1/2 Anniversary. It is a neat idea to celebrate 1/2 year anniversaries! It is such a blessing to have a help mate whom is a best friend. Why not celebrate that more than once a year! Hoping to be down more next year. Maybe we can try to get together! We would love to see you and John…as well as the kiddos! Blessing….Debbie

    Like

    1. Thank you Debbie. We’d love to get together too. It’s been a long time. When John and I were first married, I tried to do something special every month for our anniversary. Mostly it was just little things like a special dessert, John’s favorite foods, a card, or a small gift. Once sparky was born couldn’t do it every month, so the half year mark was a good compromise I’m just starting to feel like I’m getting it back together just a little since Blossom was born. So maybe I can get back to every month sometime.

      Like

  2. Sarah, Sparky and Blossom have grown so much since I have last seen them. Great post. Looking at the pictures I can not hardly believe that Blossom has gotten so big. She was so little when we were last down there, which was last year I think. Sparky is also growing up way to fast. I miss being around them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

